A bill making its way through the Fla legislature would require gunowners to take anger management classes before buying ammo.
The gun control debate is alive and well in Tallahassee, during this 60 day session. We've been reporting on a bill, sponsored by Palm Beach County Democrats, Sentator Maria Sachs and State Rep. Lori Berman.
That bill would require background checks for all gun buyers. Currently, 40 percent of gun buyers do not undergo checks of their backgrounds. Often times, these guns are purchased at gun shows.
A more controversial bill was filed this week by Jacksonville Democratic Senator Audrey Gibson. It would make it illegal to buy ammunition without showing certification from either an in-person or online anger management program.
Gibson is reportedly suprirsed by the negative reaction she's received about her bill. She says angry callers have phoned her from Florida and outside our state. The idea for the requirement came from a shooting in her area.
Teen Jordan Davis was shot after an argument started over loud music. The senator says she wants people to take "a pause before they buy any ammunition."
Under Bill 1678, gun owners would have to show a certificate that they completed a program each time they go to buy bullets and that certification would have to be renewed every ten years.
A likely less contested part of the legislation enacts a three day waiting period for the sale of any firearm.
A partner bill (HB1229) has been filed in the House of Representatives by South Florida lawmaker Perry Thurston.
Click Here to follow both bills.